Does University of Guelph give transfer credit for IB English A: Literature HL?

Guelph, ON

Faculty: General Transfer Credit

Yes, Transfer Credit Available!

Minimum Grade Required

5or higher

Credit Granted

HUMN 9110 (0.50 credits)

๐Ÿ’กExpert's Take

Guelph's table maps both Language A: Literature and Language A: Language and Literature to HUMN 9110, an unspecified Humanities credit. The separate ENGL 1080 row is for English I, a different qualification, so IB English A does not earn a named English course here. Guelph's IB equivalency table has an "English I" row mapped to ENGL*1080 (Foundations in Critical Reading and Writing) and a separate "Language A: Literature" row mapped to HUMN 9110 (generic Humanities credit). "English I" is not a standard IB subject name, and the table does not specify which IB English courses it covers. Until Guelph confirms the mapping, students should not assume either outcome.

The difference between the two possible awards is significant. ENGL*1080 is a specified course that satisfies the foundational requirement for the English major, English minor, area of concentration, and Creative Writing minor, and it is the prerequisite for ENGL*2080 (Foundations in Literary Scholarship). HUMN 9110 is a placeholder code for generic Humanities transfer credit (not a real course in the calendar). It counts toward your total graduation credits but does not satisfy any specific course requirement or prerequisite. The practical gap between the two outcomes is large, especially for students in English-focused programs.

What to watch for:

  • Do not plan your English program sequence around this credit until you confirm the award. If you are entering the English major, minor, area of concentration, or Creative Writing minor, all of which require ENGL*1080, contact Guelph Admission Services to verify whether IB English A: Literature HL is classified under "English I" (ENGL 1080) or "Language A: Literature" (HUMN 9110). The answer determines whether you still need ENGL*1080 in first year.
  • The 2.0 credit cap. Guelph caps total IB transfer credit at 2.0 credits across all HL subjects combined. This award uses 0.50 of that budget regardless of which row applies. Guelph assigns qualifying HL credit automatically on receipt of the official IBO transcript and publishes no mechanism for students to choose which HL awards apply.
  • No SL credit. English A: Literature SL does not qualify for any transfer credit at Guelph. Only Higher Level scores of 5 or above are eligible.

Practical path forward:

  • Contact Guelph Admissions before registration. Ask which row in the IB table applies to IB English A: Literature HL. The answer will tell you whether you receive ENGL*1080 (specified English credit) or HUMN 9110 (generic Humanities credit), and that determines how to build your first-year schedule.
  • If confirmed as ENGL*1080: the credit satisfies a core English program requirement and frees space in your first-semester schedule, since the published English major sequence places ENGL*1080 in semester one and ENGL*2080 in semester two.
  • If confirmed as HUMN 9110: the credit counts toward your graduation total but does not replace any specific course. English-program students would still need to take ENGL*1080 as a normal first-year requirement.
  • If you receive specified credit and are unsure about accepting it, Guelph allows you to request a change from specified to unspecified credit on an individual basis within the first 30 days of your first semester. This is not automatic; it is evaluated case by case.

Published equivalency (IB English A: Literature HL):
Minimum score: 5 or higher
Credit granted: Ambiguous. The Guelph IB table lists "English I" → ENGL 1080 and "Language A: Literature" → HUMN 9110. "English I" is not a standard IB subject name, and the table does not state which row applies to IB English A: Literature. Contact Admission Services to confirm your award.

Guelph IB & AP Equivalency Table ENGL*1080 course page

Need help preparing for IB English A: Literature HL?

Your Potential Savings

Credit Awarded

0.25

Guelph credits

Guelph charges flat tuition at 2.0 credits or more. Savings generally require a lower billed course load or an earlier final term.

Ontario Resident

~$1,217-$2,257/1.0 Guelph credit

~$304 - $564

Potential Tuition Value

(BA/BSc to BEng)

Out-of-Province

~$1,481-$2,744/1.0 Guelph credit

~$370 - $686

Potential Tuition Value

International

~$7,425-$11,241/1.0 Guelph credit

~$1,856 - $2,810

Potential Tuition Value

(varies by program)

*2025-26 tuition-only rates; 0.5-credit course rate doubled. Values assume the award replaces tuition you would otherwise pay. Actual cash savings can be $0 under flat-rate or full-time billing unless credit reduces a billed term or time to completion.

๐Ÿ“Š Compare English A: Literature HL at Other Universities

See how English A: Literature HL transfer credits compare across Canadian universities. Click column headers to sort.

UniversityMin GradeCredit GrantedTuition Value
Carleton UniversityOttawa, ON5/7ENGL 1XXX (1.0 credit)View estimateโ†’
Concordia UniversityMontreal, Quebec4/79 transfer credits toward the 120-credit Extended โ€ฆView estimateโ†’
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, NS5/7English 1015.03 + English 1025.03 = 6 credit hoursโ€ฆView estimateโ†’
Lakehead UniversityThunder Bay, ON5/7English 1115 and Arts 1-10* (*Unspecified First Yeโ€ฆView estimateโ†’
McGill UniversityMontreal, QC5/7ENGL 1XX (6 credits)View estimateโ†’
McMaster UniversityHamilton, ON5/7ENGLISH 1XXX (6 units)View estimateโ†’
Memorial University of NewfoundlandSt. John's, NL4/7ENGL 1090 + ENGL 1191View estimateโ†’
Ontario Tech UniversityOshawa, ON5/7Transfer credit, grade "T" (unspecified/elective, โ€ฆView estimateโ†’
Simon Fraser UniversityBurnaby, BC4/7SFU ENGL 111 (3), ENGL 1XX (3) or WL 102 (3), WL 1โ€ฆView estimateโ†’
University of AlbertaEdmonton, AB6/7ENGL 100-level (6 units)View estimateโ†’
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, BC5/7ENGL_V 1st-year level (6 credits)View estimateโ†’
University of CalgaryCalgary, Alberta5/73 units junior EnglishView estimateโ†’
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, MB4/7ENGL 1200 Representative Literary WorksView estimateโ†’
University of New BrunswickFredericton & Saint John, NB5/7Saint John: ENGL 1001 & unassigned 1st-year ENGL (โ€ฆView estimateโ†’
University of OttawaOttawa, ON5/7ENG 1100 + ENG 1120 (6 units)View estimateโ†’
University of ReginaRegina, SK5/7ENGL 100 + ENGL 110View estimateโ†’
University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SK5/7ENG 110.6 = 6 credit unitsView estimateโ†’
University of TorontoToronto, ON5/7ENG1**Y (St. George/UTM); ENGA**H + ENGA**H (UTSC)View estimateโ†’
University of VictoriaVictoria, BC4/7ENSH 101 (1.5 units) and ENSH 102 (1.5 units)View estimateโ†’
University of WaterlooWaterloo, ON5/7ENGL 1XX (0.5 units), elective creditView estimateโ†’
Western UniversityLondon, ON5/7English 1020E (1.0 credit)View estimateโ†’
York UniversityToronto, ON5/7AP/EN 1001 3.0 + AP/EN 1002 3.0 (6 credits)View estimateโ†’
Queen's UniversityKingston, ONN/ANo transfer creditโ€”โ†’
22 universities grant credit1 do notResidency estimates are available on each university page.

Tip: Open a university to compare same-province, out-of-province, and international tuition values. Flat-rate or full-time billing can make the immediate cash saving $0.

Taking more than English A: Literature HL?

Add all your IB subjects and predicted scores to estimate your total transfer credit across Canadian universities, side by side.

Try the IB Credit Calculator โ†’

Data Disclaimer

This information is compiled from University of Guelph official sources and verified community reports. It is NOT a substitute for official academic advising. Always confirm with your advisor before making decisions.

โœ“Official University Website

Last updated: July 2026

Save Your Transfer Plan

Download a PDF of this transfer credit information for English A: Literature HL at University of Guelph.