Does University of Windsor give transfer credit for IB Chemistry SL?

Windsor, ON

Faculty: All Programs

Yes, Transfer Credit Available!

Minimum Grade Required

5or higher

Credit Granted

CHEM-1100 or CHEM-1103 (General Chemistry I or Topics in General Chemistry)

💡Expert's Take

One course, and the official table does not state which one you get. Chemistry SL posts as a single course, "CHEM-1100 or CHEM-1103." UWindsor's credit-transfer policy awards credit only for courses that fulfill your program's degree requirements, which points toward program alignment (CHEM-1103 is the engineering-stream general chemistry, CHEM-1100 the major-track one), but the published table does not state the selection mechanism, so confirm the posted credit in UWinsite Student or with an advisor.

Neither award includes CHEM-1110 (General Chemistry II), so a single SL course does not open the rest of the core chemistry sequence: per the Fall 2026 Undergraduate Calendar, CHEM-2200 (Analytical), CHEM-2400 (Physical I), and CHEM-2500 (Inorganic I) all require CHEM-1110. CHEM-1103 is, however, an accepted alternative prerequisite for CHEM-2300 (Organic I) and CHEM-2325. If you are routed toward CHEM-2325, note it gives credit for only one of CHEM-2300, CHEM-2305, and CHEM-2325, and is closed for credit to Honours Chemistry and Biochemistry majors; its entry says it serves as a prerequisite for BIOC-2010, but BIOC-2010's own entry lists only CHEM-2300, so confirm that pathway with the department before registering.

What to watch for:

  • Continuation rules are grade-based. Continuing in any Chemistry or Biochemistry program at the second level requires "a minimum of 60% in both Chemistry CHEM-1100 and CHEM-1110, or the equivalent." Because the award covers at most one of those courses and is transfer credit rather than a completed UWindsor course, confirm with the Chemistry and Biochemistry advisor how it is treated for "or the equivalent."
  • The minors need both first-year courses. The Chemistry and Biochemistry minors are built on CHEM-1100 and CHEM-1110 and require a 67% overall average with no course below 60%, so a CHEM-1103 award does not satisfy that first-year foundation.

The option to take the credit exists "at the point of admission" (Senate policy, item 10), capped at 10 courses (30.0 credit hours) across all your IB subjects. If a UWindsor grade is later needed, you may voluntarily repeat the course so the grade you earn replaces the transfer credit.

Taking Chemistry at HL? The HL row can add a second course (CHEM-1110) on the CHEM-1100 route, though it may still post as CHEM-1103 alone; see the Chemistry HL page.

Official award line (IB Chemistry SL):
Minimum score: 5
Credit granted: one 3.0-credit course, CHEM-1100 or CHEM-1103 (General Chemistry I or Topics in General Chemistry)
University-wide IB maximum: 10 courses (30.0 credit hours)

UWindsor International Baccalaureate equivalency table

Completed the Higher Level instead? See our Chemistry HL page for that award.

Need help preparing for IB Chemistry SL?

Your Potential Savings

Credit Awarded

3

credit (1 course = 3 credits)

Ontario Resident

~$203-$381/credit

~$609 - $1,144

Potential Tuition Value

(Arts to Engineering)

Out-of-Province

~$241-$405/credit

~$723 - $1,214

Potential Tuition Value

International

~$1,100-$1,470/credit

~$3,300 - $4,410

Potential Tuition Value

(varies by program)

*2026-27 base tuition; per-course rates divided by 3. Values assume the award replaces tuition you would otherwise pay. Actual cash savings can be $0 under flat-rate or full-time billing unless credit reduces a billed term or time to completion.

📊 Compare Chemistry SL at Other Universities

See how Chemistry SL transfer credits compare across Canadian universities. Click column headers to sort.

UniversityMin GradeCredit GrantedTuition Value
Concordia UniversityMontreal, QuebecCSANo transfer credit under the IB Diploma Programme …View estimate
Memorial University of NewfoundlandSt. John's, NL5/7Chemistry 1010 (St. John's) or Chemistry 1810 (Gre…View estimate
Simon Fraser UniversityBurnaby, BC4/7SFU CHEM 1XX (3)View estimate
University of AlbertaEdmonton, ABCSACredit by Special Assessment, CHEM 101 (★3) or CHE…View estimate
University of British ColumbiaVancouver, BCCSANot listed in UBC's non-exhaustive IB table; asses…View estimate
University of ManitobaWinnipeg, MB4/7CHEM 1100: Introductory Chemistry 1 (3)View estimate
Carleton UniversityOttawa, ONN/ANo transfer credit
Dalhousie UniversityHalifax, NSN/ANo transfer credit
Lakehead UniversityThunder Bay, ONN/ANo transfer credit
McGill UniversityMontreal, QCN/ANo transfer credit
McMaster UniversityHamilton, ONN/ANo transfer credit
Ontario Tech UniversityOshawa, ONN/ANo transfer credit
Queen's UniversityKingston, ONN/ANo transfer credit
Toronto Metropolitan UniversityToronto, ONN/ANo transfer credit
University of CalgaryCalgary, AlbertaN/ANo transfer credit
University of GuelphGuelph, ONN/ANo transfer credit
University of New BrunswickFredericton & Saint John, NBN/ANo transfer credit
University of OttawaOttawa, ONN/ANo transfer credit
University of ReginaRegina, SKN/ANo transfer credit
University of TorontoToronto, ONN/ANo transfer credit
University of VictoriaVictoria, BCN/ANo transfer credit
University of WaterlooWaterloo, ONN/ANo transfer credit
Western UniversityLondon, ONN/ANo transfer credit
York UniversityToronto, ONN/ANo transfer credit
6 universities grant credit18 do notResidency estimates are available on each university page.

Tip: Open a university to compare same-province, out-of-province, and international tuition values. Flat-rate or full-time billing can make the immediate cash saving $0.

Taking more than Chemistry SL?

Add all your IB subjects and predicted scores to estimate your total transfer credit across Canadian universities, side by side.

Try the IB Credit Calculator →

Data Disclaimer

This information is compiled from University of Windsor official sources and verified community reports. It is NOT a substitute for official academic advising. Always confirm with your advisor before making decisions.

Official University Website

Last updated: August 2026

Save Your Transfer Plan

Download a PDF of this transfer credit information for Chemistry SL at University of Windsor.